Just in time for spring - Massachusetts drivers must use their headlights when using windshield wipers.
This week (and certainly this month) is bringing a lot of rain to Massachusetts, and we wanted to highlight the new law pertaining to driving safety.
According to Massachusetts General Law Chapter 85, Section 15, which was signed in January, the following conditions will dictate the use of a driver's lights:
- When windshield wipers are on
- From ½ hour after sunset to ½ hour before sunrise
- When low light or weather conditions prevent other vehicles or persons from being seen at 500 feet
"Relying on daytime running lights for these conditions is not sufficient under the law," said the Massachusetts Department of Transportation in an email blast, " A violation of this law is considered a surchargeable minor motor vehicle traffic law violation for insurance purposes."
Both MassDOT and the Massachusetts State Police are encouraging drivers and anyone else with questions or comments to utilize the hashtag #MALightLaw on social media.
Here's a safety law that's easy to follow and will undoubtedly help many drivers navigate the sometimes difficult driving in the heavy rains of spring and beyond. For more safety tips please visit the AWANE Blog as we are always updating it with important topics to keep everyone safe both in and out of the workplace. Also in Massachusetts, we offer a nationally recognized Workers Compensation Program, the AICC that offers large up front discounts, and pays out dividends to its members. Our recent track record speaks for itself, with 99% retention, and we have given back more than $1 million per year back to our membership due to the strong performance of the group.