New Hampshire's Hands Free Electronic Device Law Goes Into Effect on July 1, 2015
According to statistics available at the end of 2014, each day in the United States, more than 9 people are killed and more than 1,153 people are injured in crashes that are reported to involve a distracted driver. In 2013, 3,154 people were killed in motor vehicle crashes involving distracted drivers. Five seconds is the average time your eyes are off the road while texting. When traveling at 55mph, that's enough time to cover the length of a football field blindfolded.
- During the past 4 years, 116 fatal crashes in New Hampshire were caused by distraction
- While texting, a driver is 23 times more likely to crash
- Sending or receiving a text distracts the driver for almost 5 seconds
- Even dialing a phone number increases the risk of crashing by 3 times.
Here at AWANE, we strongly support the safe and secure use of all technology. If you have not modified your existing company policies related to the use of hand held electronic devices in vehicles, we encourage you to consider doing so. To help you with this, we want to share our thoughts on what we would encourage you to tell your employees.
USE OF ELECTRONIC DEVICES IN VEHICLE
Effective July 1, 2015, the State of New Hampshire has implemented the Hands Free Electronic Device Law. While we always encourage others not to use electronic devices while driving, we also encourage all AWANE members traveling not only through New Hampshire, but anywhere to refrain from using hand held electronic devices.
If you have questions about what devices this encompasses, the NH Hands Free Electronic Device Law includes any hand held electronic device capable of providing voice or data communication. This applies to cell phones, GPS, tablets, iPods, iPads or other devices that require data entry. Only hands free audible use using in vehicle Bluetooth (OEM or aftermarket) single ear Bluetooth headsets or other hands-free devices will be allowed. This specifically excludes dialing by hand while driving. If you are unable to operate your electronic device fully hands-free, you must pull over and stop to use your device. While this is a New Hampshire law, we look to keep everyone safe in all jurisdictions.
We also encourage you to visit http://handsfreenh.com to learn more about the New Hampshire Hands Free Law. There are some excellent resources that you and your staff may find valuable. While the New Hampshire Hands Free Law Goes into Effect on July 1st, we hope you've been driving safely and without distraction!
Please read more about safety, wellness, and our great employee benefit programs here. We are a trade association of automotive, roads, fuel, and related industries providing buying power for employee benefits and much more. Contact us to find out how to join our power in numbers!